Seemed like a good idea at the time…

When we are little we are usually asked ‘what do you want to be when you grow up?’. Children usually answer with things like a princess or an astronaut. I answered ‘A secretary’. As a child I thought secretary’s sat around writing all day and that’s what I loved doing. I have always liked writing.

I got very excited about going to university to write essays and study. I imagined sitting in a beautiful library, at a desk surrounded by books and a laptop. I loved the idea of doing loads of research and reading about something I was really interested in. Well… my lord was I wrong! I’ve now written quite a few essays over the past few years and I can honestly say this was not my experience. I found myself sitting at a library desk, stressing out because none of the books could give me what I needed. I then found myself at my own desk, gone midnight still stressing and this basically continued until the essay was given in. Wasn’t I shocked when I realised that studying for a degree wasn’t quite like it is in films and programmes. I was expecting a fairy tale full of fascinating books in beautiful library’s. What I actually got was late nights and a lot of coffee!

I don’t think I’ll ever love writing essays but what I have found after leaving uni to start my degree at college closer to home, is maybe I need to have a little bit more confidence in my ability to actually write essays. As much as I stress over it being the worst thing ever written and my little cousins being able to write something better – they always come out pretty good. I need to stop stressing!

Leave a Reply

